Reading Pursuits

I haven’t talked about my reading life on the blog in a while. I’ve joined NetGalley and instantly regretted it (reading ebooks is not my thing unless they’re Wattpad ebooks).  I miss reading paperbacks too. And finding time to read.

Exam season is approaching. This Easter is filled with lots of revision and busy days. Then again, if I manage to pull through I’ll be going to university in September and there’ll be a lot more to do for that.

Since I miss paperbacks so much I’ve grabbed Nine Stories by J.D. Salinger. I had read more than half of it earlier last year, and am currently on the story titled ‘De Daumier-Smith’s Blue Period’. The thing about these stories is that, apart from the first one, I have no idea who and what and which is being referenced. I know that Salinger is talking about the Glass family because I loved reading Franny and Zooey. I know there are many ideas about who the ‘real’ narrator is. But I forget their names easily. And Seymour’s story was very abrupt. I can’t decide what I like most about Salinger’s writing style. Is it the fact that his dialogue pushes the story forward so well? Or that every single goddamn sentence in Seymour’s story had some sort of action, all of them, and in this sense the Big Action at the end of the story becomes just another thing Seymour does and in this sense makes it all the more shocking. I like his writing. A lot. I loved reading Catcher in the Rye even though it was about a mopey teenager. Caulfield may have been an annoying bratty kid but underneath that was someone who was terrified of the world, and sometimes this fear of his was justified.

Also, I’ve been writing! I’ve posted two pieces of writing consecutively on the blog (mainly because I didn’t have time to sit down and write a post like I’m doing now). A Brother’s Chai is really funny, and I can’t wait to explore all of it. I really admire Beatty’s The Sellout for making fun of everything and I’d like to do something similar with the Chai story. The poem “ab aeterno” (from without time) needs a lot of work and playing with before I’ll be happy with but I like the poem in every stage of its growth. I’ve written – unintentionally – a short text message story called His Beard is On Fleek and I’m planning to post it on Wattpad. I really like the text message stories Wattpad has these days: they’re great at exploring controversial issues in a way teenagers can easily access and it’s a lot like playwriting the way delays and drama are cooked up.

I feel miserable. And misery, it seems, makes time for good art. Or for plain art, that too. I’m taking responsibility for myself, though, and I like what I’m creating anyway. I read this great post by Mark Manson which explains life in terms of a video game and emphasises dealing with problems with Solutions rather than Distractions. I’ve yet to decide whether creativity is a Solution or a Distraction. Right now it feels like both.

One thought on “Reading Pursuits

  1. I think having the blues can make for some incredibly passionate art / writing / song writing especially, it’s a wonderful outlet for emotions and I used to write a lot in my teens as an escape. I’m going to have to sign up to Wattpad to read your short, just the title alone has me giggling. Looking forward to catching up on your posts darling girl ❤

    Like

Your Thoughts

