How to be a Person 

The Standards For Being a Successful Citizen

  1. Must speak with grammatical finesse and with a range of vocabulary
  2. Must adopt the political-debate way of speaking: this is where you don’t really care for the substance of what you’re talking about but insist upon your view in spite of how shallow it is
  3. Certainly you must dress in the ways of ladies and gentlemen. Suit jackets, dresses with blazers, toned colours
  4. Toned colours (we are implying skin tone, hair, the size of your nose, the size of your lips, the size of the wild frenzy in your eyes, too white teeth)
  5. Politeness comes above all – you represent all other successful humans. You represent successful institutions. Be courteous to the detriment of your ideals/principles/sense of self
  6. That is to say if you do not agree, you are more than welcome to not agree. You must carry out the motions regardless because you are less important than the success you represent.
4 thoughts on “How to be a Person 

  1. Dude, I just failed personhood at step #1. I can’t grammar. I try to grammar, but then it hits me in a dark alley and is rude to me and I just sit there crying and asking where one puts apostrophes and if I can just stuff all the punctuation at the end fo a sentence and see how that works.,!?,.!!? (I’m sure it works.)😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 😄 You’re hilarious, Cait! Besides I don’t think it would be a good idea to be a person with these rules anyhow. They’re way too restrictive, right? Freedom to apostrophe however you want!

      On 24 February 2017 at 09:19, The Controversies wrote:

      >

      Like

  2. I must admit, I’m not a successful citizen, if those are the pretentious kind of standards we have to live up to then I’m happy to be a an indecent human. I do believe in not being rude to others though which I think happens all too often on the internet. People are just so angry (mainly white people without reason) and it really distracts from real world issues because they tend to center themselves instead.

    I hope you had a wonderful weekend sweetheart ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you’re not a successful citizen by those standards! I agree, I think being unnecessarily selfish is definitely making the whole process of conversation and listening that much harder. For this post I was interested in how the things we choose to represent us or put our faith in can inadvertently have some sort of influence and requirement from us. For example I go to a pretty cool school and I love going there. But sometimes they require unspoken things that we do out of politeness and out of being mindful of the school’s reputation – however we do that to the detriment of our own principles and sense of self. It’s interesting to think about the unspoken requirements and expectations we all have. And how they can so easily lead to misunderstandings.

      Thank you for commenting here Kelly! ❤ ❤

      Like

Your Thoughts

