A Bookstagram Journey

Perhaps it is ironic of me to make a post about the beginnings of my bookish instagram account (considering I have been stagnant for far too long) but this picture reminds me that I should. However considering I don’t want to waste time, and I want this to be a (relatively) short read I shall propose a list:

Milestone #1

I had the first post up.

Milestone #2

I had started to develop a theme (books on shelves!)

Milestone #3

Getting tech-savvy with my first line quotes and my page 13 quotes edited onto a book photograph

Milestone #4

That got too trashy (and too much effort, tbh) back to the books on shelves thing

Milestone #5

Greyscale (inspired by the recent 1D hype over a coloured photo on one of the band member’s Instagram accounts signalling a change of theme and I thought HOW COOL IS THAT).

Clearly I am more than just a tad bit delusional.

Milestone #6

Some books deserve colour

Milestone #7

New minimalist (ish) theme destroyed by my garish handwriting and the lighting signalling the different (usually late) times I would be capturing a photo, kitschy as fuck.

Milestone #8

WHO GIVES A HOOT. Taking as many photos as I like, but now of books that I have read. I don’t have a personal Instagram no longer (Snapchat had made it redundant, and I ended up finding Snapchat useless and so don’t have that any longer too) so my friends and acquaintances look towards my bookstagram posts (and I, unlike for you, consider how they might react to my spamming them with books on an Insta feed that frankly has one too many selfies on it). Now I want to post a picture of a book once I have finished it and give it a mini-review so that peeps know what’s up once I start waxing lyrical about this current author I am obsessing over.

There is this Savvy Thing about how Instagram connects different types of people, but also how in this is our space. However, in the long line of Trump responses (including mine) I came across the story of someone who read articles from both sides of the coin (from both the left and right sides of politics) and how it seemed that each side of the coin were living in their own worlds, and I couldn’t help but think about how social media could add to that. You could be the most popular gyal in the world and all your followers (yes all 2.3 million of them) would all come from that one side of the coin. The other side has your evil counterpart with his 2.3 million subjects. And that’s what I resent, in the bids of giving you a world that matches your interests we are creating so many delusional worlds not realising that the person sitting right next to us lives in a totally different world, and especially not knowing if that is true.

It’s so much harder, on the internet, with social media, to find your “evil” counterparts. It is so hard to stumble upon a world you don’t like. And so you think it does not exist, when in actual fact it so does.

And I don’t know where to go from there but I think that we still have to make good art (and Instagram as well as any social media platform, and of course blogging helps do that). And hope to God or whoever that this stumbling does happen, and that some evil counterpart finds you and all your trashy bookstagram edited pictures with their garish quotes. And that they realise you are trying to live in this world too, with as much fervour as them. And always remember that you are doing something extraordinary by giving to the internet and to social media – just remember, too, that you mustn’t get swept up in it.

2 thoughts on “A Bookstagram Journey

  1. Oh I like this! And I like the last things you said too nods And I think that’s half the attraction of the internet? You can surround yourself with likeminded people, making similar things to you, and have sort of a “perfect” community. And I don’t think that’s necessarily bad! Just so long as we don’t blind ourselves to everything that’s going on, because those “perfect bubbles” we can hide in are rarely true. MAKE GOOD ART THOUGH AND HAVE FUN WITH IT. <– That’s my life motto 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Making good art is bloody brilliant. That advice can go a long way, thank you Cait! I feel like having a community of likeminded people is wonderful and also necessary, but I think we need to have access to communities of not-likeminded people as scary as that seems when I think about it, mainly because I think a lot of problems can be solved if we learn how to listen to each other (I guess that’s why I like blogging so much, it’s teaching me how to do that with the bonus of being in a likeminded community huh?).

      Like

Your Thoughts

