A Woman Wearing Hijab Reporting the Nice Attack

5 days ago The Sun published this article titled “Why did Channel 4 have a presenter in a hijab fronting coverage of Muslim terror in Nice?”.

There are several things wrong with this however I made it a rule not to engage in this sort of debacle simply because not only is this sort of offensive jab never ending, this is also real life trolling, and as much as I’d love to antagonise all the trolls I can’t because:

a) I don’t have the time and energy to tirelessly combat and engage in battle with all the trolls for all the causes frankly

b) Rarely does it bring lasting change

and finally, controversially,

c) These people need to be listened to, not shouted back at.

And if you want to understand this last reason, I’m dropping the vlogbrothers video here that explains this concept pretty well.

I’m listening to what you’re saying, dude and while there’s so much wrong with what you’re saying I want to talk about the attitude the world at large and Muslims have towards Muslims talking about ISIS. READ: although I titled the post and started off about the article, the news article came up at a time when I was already thinking about Muslim-Muslim discussion about certain “hot topics” so it seemed pretty apt (and troll-ly incendiary).

This concept of Muslims not being able to talk about ISIS cropped up very early after they left. It was painful, but through the fog of grief I realised that discussions needed to take place because not being able to talk? That’s some pretty dangerous stuff right there.

Apparently just because I am a Muslim I have a higher chance to become a terrorist. Firstly: that means there should be systems involved to help protect me from these organisations (instead of being accusatory in their approach) and secondly: terrorist organisations like ISIS brainwash. That means there’s been a lot of recently converted Muslims who have gone to join their ranks. That is to say it is not Muslim ideology that ISIS followers are converting to, they are converting to ISIS ideology. S E P E R A T E.

What we have been saying tirelessly is that these people are psychologically disturbed, they cannot represent Muslims because…y’know THEY HAVE A WARPED SENSE OF LIFE. LIKE INCREDIBLY WARPED.

And most importantly we share the same goddamn enemy for these three reasons (note: this is NOT an exhaustive list):

  1. With Islamophobia making it harder to get jobs women in hijab get shouted at for talking about maybe-maybenot Islamist-motivated terrorist attacks (see The Sun article, or don’t), which then discourages Muslim women in hijab from becoming news readers because of Islamophobic media and discourages employers from taking that “risk” and offending rich sponsors with largely conservative (read in this instance: IGNORANT) views
  2. These terrorist organisations are gunning down Muslims in Muslim countries long before they’d hit France and America and the West at large (I mean the country and culture and history they’ve chosen to hijack is not Western, it’s smack-bang in the middle of Mozlemistan)
  3. Young Muslims – and Young Non-Muslims are very susceptible to brainwashing through social media because frankly Google has no safety mode in our humble opinions and Twitter is not a person it is a service and so what if terrorists can DM each other and the world at large?

We are all therefore EXPOSED AND VULNERABLE

ALL OF US.

This attitude that Muslims can’t talk about ISIS et al ignores our suffering at the hands of this group, ignores our grieving, our sorrow and our anger.

How will we be unified if we are the ones expected to leave to join them? If we are at once the enemy and the victim?

ALSO I’D LIKE TO SEE YOUR HIPSTER SON WITH HIS BEARD GO AND REPORT THE ATTACK, YOU MUPPET. (Sorry, I know that didn’t make any sense but the troll-reactor couldn’t be controlled).
4 Replies to “A Woman Wearing Hijab Reporting the Nice Attack”

  1. This is such an important post, Mahima. Especially #2 – it’s funny how terrorism is only terrorism when the attack is on the Western world… all other instances warrant nothing more than an obligatory side article on major news websites. And you’re completely right – working together and being inclusive of all races and minorities is the best way to combat terrorism – not when we see our own neighbor as the terrorist.

    Please don’t stop writing about Islamophobia and terrorism – it’s so refreshing to see it being portrayed from the perspective of a Muslim teenage girl, and you’re bringing a little more sanity and humanity to the world 🙂

    1. Thank you so much Meghna for your encouragement! Seriously I get tired at times, and often doubt my role with blogging about this sort of reaction to Islamophobia and terrorism, so your praise is definitely going to keep me going with this. 🙂

  2. I love you Mawa and I can’t even begin to understand how difficult it is to speak out and I hope other young Muslims who are feeling a sense of isolation find your post. I just don’t understand why in the western world that Muslim and the word terrorist go hand in hand. It’s utter bullshit. During my teens years, I lived in a suburb that was an eclectic mix of old Europeans and young immigrants from all over the world. I went to a girls school which had a large Lebanese and Turkish community, so I grew up with Muslim friends, neighbours and within the wider community. Not once did I ever fear for my safety. Not once did I ever feel as though I was on the outer, even though I was one of only a handful of white Australian girls at school. I would deliberately turn up at one particular friends house around dinner time once a week because her mother was an incredible cook, and even though they knew this white kid was trying to sneak an invite for dinner, not once was I ever turned away. Those are some of the fondest memories of my teen years and not because I had Muslim friends, but because I had friends who just happened to be Muslim. That’s why I don’t understand how the western world is so prejudiced. These men who kill aren’t doing it for the sake of their peaceful religion, they kill because they have it in them. You have a white american who guns down people en mass and he’s referred to as a gunman. Why is he not a terrorist, because he’s white? How did it come about where we live in a society that determines that because you wear a hijab means you’re more susceptible to killing than I would be? It’s disgusting. Terrorism comes in many forms regardless of race or religion and it makes me so incredibly angry that we live in a world where an entire religion is seen as an enemy.

    1. Kelly every time you comment on any of my posts you leave me reeling with how much adoration and love I have for you. It is incredibly frustrating, definitely, but I am beyond thankful that there are people in the world like yourself who can see past the headlines and the racism and the not-so-subtle hatred in order to live and connect with people in a way that is so compassionate. And it seems that in this world it is an extraordinary act to recognise human beings as humans before any other label they might put on themselves.
      Thanks for telling me about your community and where you’d been brought up – definitely you had friends who happened to be Muslim – when does just one aspect of a person’s identity become the defining factor that reduces them to a label?
      Your encouragement and faith in me has helped me carry on with speaking out about this and voicing my opinions when it comes to how I feel about terrorism and how it is potentially isolating me and my community from the rest of our country and the Western world at large. Thank you so much for sharing your words and encouragement and conviction – it’s frustrating, and even more so to spend so much time explaining simple topics and trying to convey my reactions to certain things in a holistic manner, but with your words I know I can keep on doing this.
      You are an incredible person Kelly, in that you can see me for who I am and have faith in who I am. It has such a positive and strengthening effect on me. ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

